Home Sites Sigiriya


Sigiriya had been built by King Kashyapa I in the 5th c. A.D. Sigiriya was declared a World Heritage site in 1982 as it displayed the cumulative effect of science of town planning, arts, architecture, construction, landscape architecture and the science of water management   practiced in Sri Lanka in the 5th c. A.D.

Some archaeologists of the past identified Sigiriya as a fortification, and some as a township. From the research done by archaeologists to date reveals that Sigiriya belongs to 8 eras viz.

  • Ancient Monastic Era - Some caves bearing drip ledged inscriptions dating from the 3-2
  • c. B.C. to 1c A.D. describing donations of these caves to the Sangha had been found at the foot of the Sigirya rock.
  • Pre Kashyapa Era - The history during the period extending from 1st c. A.D to the 5th c. A.D. seems to be indistinct.
  • Kashyapa Era - 477-495 A.D.
  • Post Kashyapa Era - The later monastic period from 6th -7th c. A.D.
  • Post Kashyapa Era
  • Abandonment Era -13th -17th c A.D.
  • Kandyan Era - 17th -19th c. A.D.
  • Modern Resurgence -1830 - 1970 decade.

Complex systems

  • Sigiriya Rock and the Royal palace atop the rock
  • Inner city and the tiers
  • The western sector comprising the water gardens, moats and the fortifications.
  • Eastern sector comprising the moat and the fortification.

In addition to the aforesaid beautification, Sigiriya has become a major archaeological site, which attracts visitors from world over for its world famous frescoes and hundreds of graffiti inscribed on an unique mirrored wall.